Hablamos Espanol

Practice Areas

Our firm is engaged in the general practice of law, with emphasis in the areas of estate planning and trusts, probate, real estate, small business, employment, agricultural and commercial law. In addition we provide civil and family mediation services.

Estate Planning
Estate Planning is the process of anticipating and arranging for the disposal of an estate. Estate planning typically attempts to eliminate uncertainties over the administration of a probate and maximize the value of the estate by reducing taxes and other expenses. Guardians are often designated for minor children and beneficiaries in incapacity. Let us help you through the process.

When a person begins a civil lawsuit, the person enters into a process called litigation. Under the various rules of Civil Procedure that govern actions in state and federal courts, litigation involves a series of steps that may lead to a court trial and ultimately a resolution of the matter. Know the steps. We can help.

Real Estate Transactions & Litigation
Whether you are buying or selling a home, in a real estate law dispute, or contemplating a real estate transaction, it is important to know your rights and have them explained to you by a real estate lawyer. Real estate law encompasses a broad range of issues in relation to property law that you may have never thought about before such as, easement disputes, foreclosures, injuries, property taxes, neighbor relations, property deeds, real estate warranties, different types of mortgages, insurance, and issues related to buying and selling real estate. You will likely have several questions you need answered. At HH&W, we are experienced and can help you.

Trusts & Assets
A trust is an agreement made when the ownership of assets, both equitable and legal, are transferred in trust to an entity to be managed by a second party, the Trustee, for the benefit of the first party (self-settling trust) or for the benefit of third parties. We can help make the process less confusing.

Small Business & Commercial Law
Commercial law (business law, corporate law) is the body of law that governs business and commercial transactions. It is often considered to be a branch of civil law and deals with issues of both private law and public law.

Education Law
Education law and the term “school law” is the name given to the branch of civil law that covers the laws and regulations that govern federal and state education, including the administration and operation of educational institutions, school athletics, instruction methods, programs, and materials. This area of law encompasses issues relating to school faculty, staff, and students, including school discipline and discrimination based on race, color, national original, sex, or disability in violation of the Equal Educational Opportunities Act, Title IX of the Federal Education Amendments of 1972, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and the Individuals with Disabilities in Education Act. Read more here in the education law practice center. We can help.

Family Law
Family law is a practice area that encompasses the legal issues that face families. These issues include:
• Divorce
• Spousal Support
• Child Support
• Custody
• Division of Assets and Liabilities Due to Divorce
• Adoption
• Termination of Parental Rights
• Paternity
• Dependency and Child Neglect
• Protection from Abuse

Mediation, as used in law, is a form of alternative dispute resolution (ADR), a way of resolving disputes between two or more parties with concrete effects. Typically, a third party, the mediator, assists the parties to negotiate a settlement. Disputants may mediate disputes in a variety of domains, such as commercial, legal, diplomatic, workplace, community and family matters. We are experienced and can help.

There are six basic types of bankruptcy cases under the Bankruptcy Code. Understanding the various areas of bankruptcy can be a real challenge. Each state has one or more judicial districts for bankruptcy. There are 90 bankruptcy districts across the United States and Indiana is divided into a Northern District and a Southern District. Montgomery County falls under the jurisdiction of the Southern District of Indiana.